It’s a Mad Mad World!!

The countdown to MadMen is on and I couldn’t be more excited!  I’m not sure what I’m looking forward to more, seeing Jon Hamm’s face, the plot twists, or what the women will wear next.  Ok, Ill admit it, the storyline is great, Jon Hamm is gorgeous,  but for me it’s really about the clothes.

Whether you are into fashion or not, one cannot deny that the costume designs on this show are unbelievable.  So, you can imagine my delight when Banana Republic released their Mad Men inspired collection for Spring.  I liked the jewelry and the cigarette pants were nice, but ithe selection was very small.  It left me hungry for more so off to the internet I went.

My favorite 50’s inspired dress is the ever popular calf length full skirt small waist belted waist very popular with Betty Draper.  Variations of this style are very big this Spring.  I first noticed it’s prevelance during the Spring 2012 Dior Couture Show. However,  I have also seen it pop up a few times during Fashion Week Autumn/Winter 2012-2013.

Dior Haute Couture Spring 2012

January Jones and Jon Hamm

If, like me, you’ve decided that you want to rock this style this Spring may I suggest ordering from one of the many vitage stores online dedicated to 50’s style clothing.  In my opinion, the looks are more authentic and definitely more eye catching. Also, you have more variety of styles which minimizes the chances of having a twin when you are out in public.  I personally like www.modcloth.com.  Here are some of my favorite looks from the store.

MadMen premieres on AMC, March 25th at 9PM/8C

Leave a Reply

